Tuesday, March 29, 2005

The Snowy White Peaks - Day 2

HAPPY EASTER!!!

Yippee Easter is here but, alas, no Easter bunny has visited room 507 at the Holiday Inn Frisco. Oh well maybe next year. I think Steve had to hunt easter eggs all by himself this year back in GA because my older bro is In Chapel Hill. Bummer but it was surely fun. On the way to the slopes this morning we finally had blue skies and a the sun shining as brightly as ever. It really seems brighter up here. I guess we are about 10,000 feet closer but should that really matter? Anyway, it was a beautiful day and aside from having my whole body sorer than it has ever been before i was really looking forward to getting out there and shredding up that mountain. I had a pretty cool board: Burton Cruzer 160 and i knew that it had potential. I saw the other dudes out on the half pipe and ramps and figured i would do that today too since i relearned so easily yesterday. Matt and i made a pact to do at least one ramp today no matter what happened. So we are on the way and hear there is an Easter egg hunt on Peak 8. We are very excited by this news but never make it Peak 8. We first hit Peak 7, Jen's favorite, and it was very nice. We rode the Monte Cristo run quite a few times and since there were ups and downs it was a good place for a ramp. We both got about 2-3 inches and looked very uncooridnated doing it. Further down the mountain i took a nasty spill that left me with a sore head and not knowing where i was for a moment. I did however have the wherewithall to yell to Skittles to grab my sunglasses. Those things are priceless on the mountain. The rest of the day went about the same: me impressing nearly everyone on the mountain with my fluid skills except for some 8 year olds who happened to be above me on the lift when i ate it pretty hard. They yelled and laughed. I really wanted to find those punks. At about 1:30 we called it a day since none of us could feel our legs. It was a good run and i certainly look forward to hitting the slopes again soon.

Back in Denver Plum and I vowed to watch the entire first season of Arrested Development but after a few beers and a big bowl of Tortellini I was out like a switch. I don't think i have exerted that much energy in years. I also don't understand how standing on a board can make you so damn tired. Laws of nature i suppose.

Monday was a very restful day after running some errands to Target, Kinko's (a nightmare as always), EMS so i could get a new sock hat since i had lost mine, and grabbing some fish tacos at Wahoo's we got back to Arrested Development. We watched all afternoon until deciding it was too nice out went for a beer where the top dogs hang out - Park Tavern. The weather out here is amazing one day and snowy and freezing the next. A bit unstable but the nice days are worth it. After that we went and gorged ourselves on meat at a Brazilian steakhouse. Couldn't move for the next half hour but that just meant more Arrested Development.

In the famous words of Mitch: "Denver, the sunshine state, gorgeous."

No comments: