JK it wasn't really all that bad. We started off this morning as my previous post mentioned on a water taxi from Bocas over to some town called something that started with a ch. I really have no idea what it was but the $5 ride was pretty darn cool. We were stuffed into a typical motor boat with high seas all around. There were about 15 of us i suppose in this boat and we took off like a rocket in Cape Canaveral. We were in a race with another of the taxis for the first kilometer or so then of course we pulled ahead. Both boats were the same hull and engine wise and we had 3 times the load of them but i guess somehow the extra weight was to our advantage. The views were nice and we made it to a canal that was dug or enlarged or something for the banana boats to get to a shipping portal. We cruised up this glassy river swerving around tree roots and overhanging palms at breakneck speed. Stopped to pick up some kids at rivers edge and their dogs were there ready to play. Luckily our driver realized they really wanted to go for a swim and gave them a hearty spray from the propeller. The kids climbed on the already overloaded vessel (I thought this might be another good boat story but to no avail) and we were off again. There were several tight maneuvers on the river that seemed to be for no reason but we had put our lives in the hands of this very able driver. He was at least 20 with a cut off shirt so why not?
At the docks we were accosted by 6 and 7 year olds that wanted to carry our bags for tips but they warrant getting 20 of my hard earned cents that is for sure. My bros and I along with 8 other passengers loaded into a 4 door pickup truck and somehow fit in their with all of our luggage. Mind you there were 11 passengers and 1 driver for a total of 12 people plus a backpack or 2 for each of us. Needless to say this was not the most comfortable ride. There were some Canadians and plenty of Americans and the 6 of us in the short bed back of this truck had to get transferred to another cab (think of the smallest car possible) because the driver didn't want to get a ticket for having us back there. This was a nice stretch since i was about to lose a foot and Steve thought he had actually torn his ACL on the journey thus far. The ch town was only 16k from the border mind you. After we safely passed the police station we pile back in the truck for more dirt road up the ass. Real nice stuff and i think that my coccyx is permanently scarred. Made it to the border and had no problem on the Panama side but the Costa Rica side (after a gallant bridge walk) was a different story. Well mainly just a line that didn't move because the lady didn't want to work. Once she got there it was rather quick. Waited for the bus to San Jose and found the station with a little help from a local. Everyone is very helpful for tips.
The ride was long and at first not crowded but after a few stops namely Puerto Viejo the thing was slammed and people had to stand in the aisles. Not a good way to travel with a bus driver who is determined to pass every other car on the road. The brakes were ridden hard at times and after dark the whole thing just became more surreal. Between the swerving, the engine revs, and the lack of leg room (personal space) i had to put on the headphones and take a nap. We arrived well and made it to the Hotel Elvis right across the street from the buses that go to Nicaragua. We will either leave at 430, 530, or 900 for another 7.5 hour bus ride. Should be tight. Or at least my back muscles. HAHAHAHAHA!!!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment