Sunday, May 21, 2006

We are awesome

Hey guys i know it's been quite some time since i have written in this space but feeling compelled to write when there is nothing exciting to write just really doesnt do it for me. Sorry. I'm sure you all care.

Well if you havent heard i am studying in China this summer through Pierce Law School which is some IP school in NH. Pretty cool i'd say but it may just be more of an excuse to travel. Fine by me. Well I will be studying starting the 16th of June, or maybe the 14th, or 12th, who knows. At any rate I decided to come on over a little early and get a little time on the beach and see a little bit of the world that havent previously seen. Pretty cool idea huh? Yeah, so i talked my little bro into coming with me to Thailand for a few weeks before he goes to Augusta to write for the paper and i go back to school to become the world's greatest international intellectual property expert. Yes, that's my aim. And he in turn talked his roommate/friend into coming too. My friend Jo from England will also be along on the adventure and she is getting here tomorrow, which would be Monday (haven't quite figured out time differences yet and i think i may be a day ahead of you guys back in the states, but not really sure). So that's our crew for Thailand and we should have some good times, and make some good stories. Well we already have actually...

First, I had a day to myself in Seoul since my pops got the ticket for me through frequent flier miles i had quite a route and quite a few layovers. I left wednesday night at 8 and Steve and John left the following day at 1pm and we were to be on the same flight from Seoul to Bangkok. Needless to say they didn't make the flight and I was alone again (lyrics?). Yeah, but back to Seoul. I get there at 630a after a 12 or so hour flight from LA which wasn't so bad except for the fact that we didn't have our own TVs and not that i would have watched the movies anyway because i was quite tired and they were in Korean but i would of liked to have that option. Anyway, flight was ok but no free liquor so i had to go old school and just try to sleep on a plane substance free. I did a pretty good job with the use of the sleep mask but when they serve you dinner when after you takeoff at 1am and then breakfast a few hours later and then you magically arrive somewhere completely new and it's morning still (630am) you kind of wonder what the hell happened. Maybe it's just me but losing a day of your life going somewhere may not be worth it.

Flying into Seoul is way rad. The airport is high tech and looks kind of like a cockroach or something. They have Hyundais everywhere but nobody seemed to know what i was saying when i told them that we (Georgians) just got a Hyundai factory in ATL. Oh well, if they knew they would think it was cool i'm sure. The airport is about an hour outside of the city and on the busride in i saw rice paddys (is that what a rice field is called, please get back to me on that) and tons of really tall apartment buildings. I got in the city about 8am before anything opened and started walking around and since almost nobody knew english and i hate to say that my korean isn't great there were problems. Well, not problems just didn't know where to go, what to see, etc. So i walked. And walked.

What i saw was a city that has a cool world cup stadium, old palaces, a few pagodas, an art/antique district, and lots of pollution. Good day, saw the oldest palace in Cora (who i told a girl who surveyed me was going to win this summer), a cool park with the oldest pagoda ever (1400 i think, who the hell knows if that's really old though, especially in the scheme of things, ya know?), and a bunch of shops. Ended up not buying anything and still spending like 20,000 Won. What up with that? Had a good lunch of beef soup w/ noodles and stuff and was pleasantly surprised not only with it but with the array of kim chis that they gave me, and refilled free of charge. The fav one was a bit like seaweed salad w/ sesame. Also got salad and rice and all kinds of stuff for 5000, pretty good deal i think. Got back to the airport after reading in a coffee shop for a spell and found out the ATL flight that steve-o and john were on was late and they wouldn't be making it. I got into Bangkok about 9p and found out they were on the flight to get in at 12a so i decided to wait for those kids bc i didnt want to split up so early. They got in late and took forever in customs so about 130 they saunter out and turn in circles and don't see me but luckily i am flight of foot and made it to them before the left. We got a cab and 45 minutes later we were in backpacker paradise on Khao San Road. No place to stay and not knowing where anything was. Luckily it worked out because we are awesome.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

When you get to Thailand, I better hear some stories of prostitution and other tales of debochery...
Love, the man behind the curtain.