Thursday, July 13, 2006

Crab Style

So you may be thinking that I have visited the Shaolin Temple and become a master of the crab style of Kung Fu. Think again since that isn't even one of the styles. Didn't you even listen to Wu Tang when you were younger. Just writing that makes me wonder what it means in Chinese. I will find out don't you worry. Well, crab style is what I call the stupid way in which these guys over here play ping pong. Not very cool if you ask me, but that is just because I have not won against it yet. Mao is one of the Chinese law students at Tsinghua chosen to sit in on our classes and be our counterparts to show us around and be our friends while we are here. They thought of everything huh? Well, Mao is mine and even though I didn't meet him till the third week I always say that it's better late than never. I asked him if there were public or university tables to play and i saw a gleam in his eye. We made plans to play the next day.

After class we decided to go eat lunch at the canteen on campus since it would be quick. Promptly at 1, the time that class gets out Mao calls me and asks if I am ready. I tell him we should meet at 2 because I have to go eat. Promptly at 2 Mao calls me and asks where I am. I hurry back and meet him to go the ping pong gymnasium. I talked Mike into coming too and it turns out that Sang comes as well. We play for around 2 hours but after the first 15 minutes Mike is out of his shirt. This place is in the basement and is just as you would imagine. There are 3 rows of 8 ping pong tables and although this time only about 8 of them get going we later get to experience the full force of the place. This experience is pretty good and after first being annihilated by Mao I finally come to within 4 with the last game ending 17-21. I beat Sang and Mike every time but that damn Mao would not go down. We vowed to do it again.

After Monday's pizza party where we all received participation certificates for coming on a study abroad trip several people wanted to go play. This was lead by Eve who, after hearing our stories of the now legendary Mao who took down the Westerners, couldn't wait to play him. Mike told me that she was a bad ass and her being from Shanghai made it at least believable. Now i don't know for sure if she ever won but she didn't make a big deal about it if she did. I walked over with Jackson (they all have American, or at least pronounceable names) he made quick work of me in 2 games. I traded up to play Rich who I beat and then Wyatt who I stuck with the rest of the time. He was as good, maybe better, than Mao or at least I tell myself that since I couldn't beat him. After about 3 games I had had enough and ripped the shirt off since all the other Americans had. This place was bumpin now with about 20 tables going at the same time. Some serious talent on this floor. Now for those who have seen me play you may say that I am not so good but for my once a year play I don't think I am so bad. I got within 1 of Wyatt several times but could never eek one out. I think the rest of the patrons were a bit freaked out by all the white kids in there but that's just the way it is some times. Anyway, the crab style is how they hold the paddle or racket as they call it. I think it's cheating even though it's allowed in the Olympics. This is a very difficult sport and Wyatt confessed that I am the best foreigner he has ever played. Yeah, that place was hot and wet.

No comments: