Kyoto is how it goes. Well not only night but also day. My only shoes, the sweet as 991's i found at Plato's for $15 are probably ruined. Well i now know that they aren't but they do smell really bad. I let them dry for 4 days or so but that just wreaked havoc on my feet and the people around me - ended up rubbing the tops of my feet off because of walking with wet straps and as for the other folks in the hostel they got a nostril full. During the day after my buddy Chuck left and I had found the new hostel, inn rather - the Cheapest. Literally called the Cheapest Inn. Got a bed and headed out. Earlier in the day I figured that I should go ahead and send all my stuff home that I didn't need. great idea right and for only 13000 yen it could be mine. That and 2 months. Ended up doing it but not after having mathematical equations equalling 2m explained and drawn for me multiple times. They are real sticklers over here because my bag ended up being (length plus circumference) 2m and 4 cm. This did not pass the test of course and multiple people held up big x's in front of their bodies. No go. That is until the last day in Kyoto and I desperately wanted to rid myself of them so i scavenged for boxes in the garbage and found some suitable ones. Packed all my stuff in and duct taped the hell out of em. We will see how far they make it.
Back to Tuesday though. Walked around in the rain for hours and my new North Face (that would be in quotes if i could find them) was leaking and bleeding everywhere. My new Gore Tex Arc Teryx jacket wasn't much help either. I happened upon a temple and was taking a picture when this guy comes out and asks if i would like a tour. Always wary of spending money on crap I say no but he invites me in and I figure he wants to practice some English. We perform the Tenrikyo practice with clapping and praying for a joyous life. Sounded good and the guy was pretty cool and I somehow ended up agreeing to go to Tenri with him the next day to see the town and the temples and the mountains there.
After spending a number of hours waiting for the rain to die down enough to make it to the subway from the YHA hostel I finally did and the kinda gay host guy was pretty glad to be rid of me and my stinking ways i am pretty sure. Made it to the Inn and since I had reserved the tatami course (read: woven mat bunk bed in the open with a light directly above, but good price at only 900 yen after i had spent 4800 for the previous night) i had no place for my things. Side note, the second i arrived my new China original Samsonite suitcase broke in many ways. The handle to pull it and the handle on top. The next day the other handle, the inside lining and some screws fell out. The one thing that stayed true were the zippers. Hella fine. Don't know why i am writing all this but i find it somewhat amusing and i am now remembering the hellish walk with overweight bags in the rain and my new umbrella blew back in the wind and nobody helps the poor white kid obviously in need, so sad it is.
Finally settled i figure i need a beer or better yet some tonic for the gin i bought at the airport. Bombay for $11 isn't too bad. Found grapefruit water instead and headed to the park i found when looking for the Cheapest. Listened to ipod, looked at lonely planet, ate some chips, and was asked to join some old men drinking sake. Things always work out. One out of three of them knew some English so we talked as much as possible and they were all retired half artists and one was A Little Famous in Japan. Many people came through including some high schoolers, dog walkers, firework shooters, a lady who gave us rice cakes, and others I'm sure. Ended up being quite a night hearing their stories and talking and listening to them talk. At any rate the sake was flowing and it wasn't raining on the walk home. I think the mat was almost bearable that night.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment